MBL Logo

Welcome to the Monterey Bay League!

Formed decades ago, the Monterey Bay League is part of the Central Coast Section (CCS) of the California Interscholastic Federation (State CIF). It is comprised of 15 high schools from four counties surrounding the beautiful Monterey Bay on the Central Coast of California.

The league is governed by its Board of Managers, comprised of an administrator (Principal or Assistant Principal) from each of the League schools. The Board of Managers meets three times per year, with other special meetings if needed. The Athletic Directors of each school meet together as a separate body a number of times during the school year, and they are the first group to discuss league matters and to bring recommendations to the Board of Managers.

The league has a League Commissioner, whose job it is to ensure the day-to-day operations of the league.

The entire league operates pursuant to a Constitution, General By-Laws, and Sports specific By-Laws, all of which can be found on the Governance page of this website.

Since its inception, the league has had a number of different member schools from time to time. With the 2012-2013 school year, however, the league merged with the old Tri County Athletic League to form a league of 15 schools with two divisions (MBL-Gabilan and MBL-Pacific) in all major sports. After each season, the league Board of Managers, with input from coaches and Athletic Directors, decides the division alignment of teams in each sport and gender for the next year. The division placement is based on competitive strength, leading to better competition for all schools in the league in each sport.

MBL Schools