MBL Logo

Monterey Bay League History

MBL All-League Team Archives
MBL Individual Champions
MBL Team Champions Archives

The Monterey Bay League was formed decades ago. Since that time, a number of schools in the Monterey Bay Area, from Santa Cruz to Morgan Hill, have been members of the Monterey Bay League from time to time. With the 2012-2013 school year, however, the league merged with the old Tri County Athletic League to form its current league of 15 schools with two divisions (MBL-Gabilan and MBL-Pacific) in all major sports. After each season, the league Board of Managers, with input from coaches and Athletic Directors, decides the division alignment of teams in each sport and gender for the next year. The division placement is based on competitive strength, leading to better competition for all schools in the league in each sport.

The MBL serves as the host supplemental league for MTAL schools competing Girls Golf, for MTAL and SCCAL schools competing Boys and Girls Water Polo, and for MTAL schools competing Boys Tennis and Boys Volleyball.

Since 1975, with a brief exception during part of the 2004-2005 school year, the Monterey Bay League has had only two League Commissioners to run its day to day operations.

From 1975, through the 2003-2004 school year, and then again for part of 2004-2005, ELGIE BELLIZIO served as League Commissioner, helping to shape its current existence and its dedication to educationally-based athletics. The MBL Sportsmanship award is named in his honor as is one of the Sportsmanship Awards of the Central Coast Section. On August 30, 2014, Elgie’s contributions to high school athletics in our region were recognized as he was inducted into the Salinas Valley Sports Hall of Fame. Elgie truly is a legend in high school athletics.

Beginning with the 2005-2006 school year and continuing to the present, Tim McCarthy has served as the Monterey Bay League Commissioner.